

Day 1 – Sunday 27 th April 2025	
14.30:	Assemble in the Maisondieu Suite, Laichmoray Hotel, Elgin.
	Registration
15.00:	Formal Opening of School and Welcome, Chairman, Spirit of Speyside Whisky
	Festival
15.10:	Welcome and Introduction to the Whisky School, Headmaster
15.15:	Introductions to the Committee.
15.25:	Delegates to introduce themselves briefly.
15.45:	Lecture 1: "A Brief History of Speyside's contribution to Scotch Whisky" Ann Miller,
	The Dram Queen
16.25:	Coffee/tea break
16.35:	Lecture 2: "Barley, Malting and Malt" Mark Kinsman, Maltster [retired], FIBD, BSc,
	M. Malt.
17.20:	Q&A
17.30:	Lecture 3: "An Introduction to Sensory Appreciation and How to Taste", Diane
	Stuart, Edrington with a Tasting
18.15:	Q&A
18.30:	Free time
19.00:	Informal meal - in the hotel with the Committee.
Day 2 - Monday 28 th April 2025	
08.45:	Assemble in the Hotel, Elgin.
00.40.	Coffee/tea will be available on arrival.
Today's Subjects: Barley to Wash plus Technical Visits	
08.50:	Introduction and looking at the day ahead, School Headmaster
09.00:	Lecture 4: "Scotch Whisky Mashing" Richard Beattie, BSc, FIBD.
09.45:	Q&A
10.00:	Lecture 5: "Scotch Whisky Fermentation" Richard Beattie, BSc, FIBD and Jim
10.00.	Simpson, Distillery Production Control and Quality Control Manager [retired]
10.45:	Q&A
11.00:	Coffee/tea break
11.15:	Lecture 6: "What is whisky? Legal definitions/Overview of the Scotch Whisky
11110.	Industry", Graeme Littlejohn, Director – Strategy & Communications, Scotch
	Whisky Association
12.00:	Q&A
12.15:	Tasting: Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival Awards Finalists led by Steph Murray
12.13. 12.40:	Light lunch in the hotel followed by coffee/tea.
12.40. 13.30:	Depart for technical visits to Portgordon Maltings and Aultmore Distillery.
17.30:	Return to hotel
17.30:	Round up, Q&A for the day with the Committee
18.00:	Free evening for you to make your own arrangements

Day 3 - Tuesday 29th April 2025

Today's Subjects: Technical Visits then Wash to New Make Spirit

08:30: Assemble <u>outside</u> the hotel, Elgin to depart for technical visits to Glen Grant Distillery,

Speyside Cooperage and Forsyth's Coppersmiths

13.00 Return to hotel for light lunch followed by coffee/tea. 13.50: Q&A on morning visits with the Committee Lecture 7: "Distillation" by Dr Stuart Watts BSc, Distilleries Director, Wm Grant & 14.05: Son Ltd. a. The Scientific Principles of Distillation b. Batch Distillation for Scotch Malt Whisky c. Continuous Distillation for Scotch Grain Whisky 15.10: 15.25: Coffee/tea break 15.40: Lecture 8: The contribution to Flavour Development of Pot Stills and Distillation **Equipment - speaker TBC** 16.30: Q&A 16.45: Round up and Q&A for the day with the Committee 17.00: Free time 18.30: Depart from Laichmoray Hotel for Celebration Dinner with the Committee at Dowans Hotel, Aberlour 19.00: Cocktail Reception & Dinner with photographs in suitable locations Dress code: national dress, evening attire or smart casual. 22.45: Depart for Laichmoray Hotel Day 4 - Wednesday 30th April 2025 08.45: Assemble in the Hotel, Elgin Coffee/tea will be available on arrival. Today's Subjects: New Make Spirit to Scotch Whisky 08.50: Introduction and looking at the day ahead, School Headmaster 09.00: Lecture 9: "The Science of Flavour in New Make Spirit Part 1" Robert Fotheringham, Robert Fotheringham BSc, FIBD, Global Technical Manager, Lallemand Biofuels & Distilled Spirits with tasting samples 10.00: Q&A 10.10: Coffee/tea break Lecture 10: "The Science of Flavour in New Make Spirit Part 2", Robert Fotheringham 10.25: BSc, FIBD, Global Technical Manager, Lallemand Biofuels & Distilled Spirits 11.25: Q&A 11.40: Lecture 11: The Contribution of Peat to Whisky Flavour", Dr Barry Harrison, BSc, DIBD, Head of Peat, Raw Materials and Processing Research, Scotch Whisky **Research Institute** 12.25: Q&A 12.40: Light lunch in the hotel followed by coffee/tea 13.40: Lecture 12: "The creation of single malts and blended Scotch whiskies", Rhiann Ferguson, M.Chem, GCD, Blender, John Dewar & Sons with tasting samples 14.50: Q&A 15.00: Coffee/tea break Feedback Survey - please hand to a Committee member when completed. 15.15: Round up and Q&A of the day and the entire course with the Committee **Presentation of Certificates** 15.45: Course ends

Whisky School Organising Committee:

Committee Chair: Ann Miller

Committee: Richard Beattie, Helen Foord, Robert Fotheringham, Mark Kinsman, Steph

Murray, Mathew Porritt, Jimmy Simpson